Back to events

The event aims to explore the territorial dimension of the single market, by fostering a constructive and informed debate amongst several experts.

After the adoption of the Geo-Blocking Regulation and the Portability Regulation during the previous legislature, the Digital Single Market got one step closer to completion. However, obstacles to the circulation of goods and services in the EU are not a thing of the past. National implementation delays and a reluctancy of sellers to offer cross-border delivery options make it sometime difficult to purchase goods from other EU Member States. When it comes to content, access to copyright protected works, such as movies, videogames, music, and e-books, is not covered by the Geo-Blocking Regulation. This means that EU consumers cannot seamlessly access every kind of content from any Member State, as copyright is acquired and enforced on a country-by-country basis.

At the same time, creating a true Digital Single Market by removing territorial barriers is a complex task and every new measure must be carefully assessed because of multiple effects connected thereto. Would removing geo-blocking restrictions also impact prices of subscription, availability of European content and consolidated distribution practices? Would creators be able to efficiently finance their works and what role should be played by EU funds? And what would be the effects of imposing the cross-border delivery of goods?

  • Programme

    Opening remarks

    Roza Thun MEP and EIF Steering Committee Member

    Andrus Ansip MEP and EIF Member


    Prabhat Agarwal, Head of Unit ‘E-Commerce and Platforms’, DG CNECT, European Commission

    L?on M?lenberg, Senior Policy Advisor, Ecommerce Europe

    Linn Selle, Policy Officer, the Federation of German Consumer Organisations (VZBV)

    John Phelan, Director General, ICMP

    David Martin, Senior Legal Officer, Team Leader, BEUC

    First Respondent

    Enrico Turrin, Deputy Director/Economist, Federation of European Publishers


    Maria Rosa Gibellini, Director General, European Internet Forum

    Exchange of views with the participants under the Chatham House rules

    Closing remarks

    Roza Thun MEP and EIF Steering Committee Member

Practical information

28 October 2020 10:00 - 12:00
Add to my calendar


  • Roza Grafin von Thun und Hohenstein MEP, EIF Steering Committee Member
  • Andrus Ansip MEP, EIF Steering Committee Member
  • Prabhat Agarwal Head of Unit ‘E-Commerce and Platforms’ DG CNECT, European Commission
  • Léon Mölenberg Senior Policy Advisor Ecommerce Europe
  • Linn Selle Policy Officer the Federation of German Consumer Organisation (VZBV)
  • John Phelan Director General ICMP
  • David Martin Senior Legal Officer BEUC
  • Enrico Turrin Deputy Director/Economist Federation of European Publishers
  • Maria Rosa Gibellini Director General European Internet Forum

Related content