Back to events

The 17th annual IGF meeting will be hosted in Addis Ababa from 28 November - 2 December 2022, under the overarching theme: 'Resilient Internet for a shared sustainable and common future'. It will be a hybrid meeting giving equal opportunities to online and on-site participants.

The programme will be developed around the following themes:

  1. Connecting All People and Safeguarding Human Rights
  2. Avoiding Internet Fragmentation
  3. Governing Data and Protecting Privacy
  4. Enabling Safety, Security and Accountability
  5. Addressing Advanced Technologies, including AI

In our preparatory meeting we will pick and exchange on the currently most relevant topics for Europe (topics 2, 3, 5 marked in bold).

In addition, we will provide an update on the IGF activities directed to members of parliaments, which successfully brought together legislators in recent years.

This year’s IGF will also contribute to the UN process on the Global Digital Compact (GDC) and results will feed into the negotiating phase for the Member States to develop the form and text of the GDC principles and calls for action, and set out the future process. EuroDIG has initiated European Stakeholder Consultations to support these efforts.

  • Programme

    Opening remarks

    Miapetra Kumpula-Natri MEP and EIF Steering Committee Member; Head of the EP Delegation to IGF


    Gemma Carolillo, Deputy Head of Next Generation Internet Unit, DG CONNECT, European Commission

    Sandra Hoferichter, Secretary General of EuroDIG

    Adam Peake, Member, IGF Multistakeholder Advisory Group

    Elena Plexida, Vice President Government and IGOs Engagement, ICANN

    Lise Fuhr, Director General, ETNO and member of the UN Internet Governance Forum Leadership Panel


    Maria Rosa Gibellini, Director General, European Internet Forum

    Exchange of views with the participants under the Chatham House rule

Practical information

15 November 2022 14:30 - 16:00

EIF online event

Add to my calendar


  • Miapetra Kumpula-Natri MEP, EIF Steering Committe member
  • Gemma Carolillo Deputy Head of Next Generation Internet Unit DG CONNECT, European Commission
  • Sandra Hoferichter Secretary General EuroDIG
  • Adam Peake Member IGF Multistakeholder Advisory Group
  • Elena Plexida Vice President Government and IGOs Engagement ICANN
  • Lise Fuhr Director General ETNO
  • Maria Rosa Gibellini Director General European Internet Forum

Related content